Connect with us

2023 Elections

LAGOS: Sanwo-Olu wins elections, defeats Rhodes-Vivour with 442,690 votes



Sanwo-Olu has won 18 local government areas out of the 20 LGAs of Lagos State.

Babajide Sanwo-Olu, the governor of Lagos State and the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, won 18 of the state’s 20 local government areas in the recently held governorship and state House of Assembly elections.

The Independent National Electoral Commission made the announcement on Sunday at its state collation facility in Yaba, Lagos.

Also Read: Lagos: Chioma Akpotha, Kate Henshaw Attacked by Thugs in Etiosa (VIDEOS)

Sanwo-Olu, who is running for re-election, is up against Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party and Olajide Adediran of the Peoples Democratic Party.

The incumbent governor polled the highest number of votes in Lagos Island, Epe, Agege, Ibeju-lekki, Surulere, Ikeja, Mushin, Ajeromi-Ifelodun, Apapa, Ifako-Ijaiye, Badagry and Lagos Mainland.

Sanwo-Olu also triumphed in Alimosho, Ojo, Ikorodu, Kosofe, Oshodi-Isolo, and Amuwo-Odofin LGAs.

However, Rhodes-Vivour, his rival, prevailed at Amuwo-Odofin LGA.

Because voting is still taking place at polling places in Victoria Garden City, the only remaining result is from the Eti-Osa LGA and has not yet been made public.


Although, the Independent National Electoral Commission is yet to declare the official results, collated results from the 20 local governments in the state, show Sanwo-Olu is in clear lead with over 442,690 votes.

Sanwo-Olu polled a total of 739,526 votes ahead of Rhodes-Vivour who got a total of 296,832 votes.

Adediran popularly known as Jandor came distant third with 63,849 votes.