Connect with us

Top Story

10th NASS: Lawan joins race for Senate Presidency despite zoning



10th NASS: Lawan joins race for Senate Presidency despite zoning

Ahmed Lawan, the outgoing Senate President, has started a scheme to keep his job, which has made the contest for the Senate Presidency of the 10th National Assembly more competitive.


With the President-elect, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Lawan ran for president on the All Progressives Congress (APC) ticket but lost.

Also Read: 10th NASS: Akpabio urges lawmakers-elect to ignore ministerial record

Following a protracted court struggle to secure the senatorial ticket, he would eventually run for Senate.

ENIGERIA learned that Lawan has decided to disrupt the system to relaunch himself for the nation’s number three seat.

With his entry, the Senate now has three groups of 6 lawmakers in pairs to slug it out.

The two other groups outside Lawan are the Senators Godswill Akpabio/ Jubrin Barau ticket and Senators Orji Uzor Kalu/Abdulaziz Yari ticket.


A reliable source from the national assembly has disclosed that the Senator representing Yobe North has already set up a camp for the race.

The source said that Lawan is pairing up with Senator Osita Isunaso from Imo West senatorial zone of Imo State to actualize his ambition and equally working with other senators and stakeholders.

The source said: “I can tell you for a fact that the Senate President is running. He has chosen to pair up with Senator Osita Isunaso from Imo State to realize his ambition. Senator Ifeanyi Ubah, Senator Sani Musa, Governor Hope Uzodinma of Imo State, and Chief Emeka Offor are all in his camp to help him actualize the objective.”